Located on the Island of Maui, The Historic Town of Wailuku was the area of the royal residence of Kahekili. He was the last ruling chief of Maui, Hale Hō’ike’ike made up a portion of the Wailuku Station which served as a school initially for Hawaiian girls starting in 1842. Originally the school was known as the Central Wailuku Female Seminary until funding by the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions ceased in 1848. Thereafter the school was converted into a day school for both Hawaiian boys and girls on a tuition paying basis until its closure in the mid-1850ʻs. The site of the former school remained the home of Edward Bailey and his family until 1888.
The Bailey site evolved into the Wailuku Sugar plantation and became the home of the plantation manager home until 1924. The new plantation managers house was build on the same plot next door to the original home. The original house was then turned into offices for Wailuku Sugar Company.
During World War II the Old Bailey House became the headquarters of the Civil Defense. It was also briefly occupied by the family of Ezra Crane, he was the Editor of the Maui News, In 1946 his home home was destroyed by a Tsunami.
The Founders of what is now called the Maui Historical Society searched for years for a desirable location for the museum and the use of the “Old Bailey House” then owned by Wailuku Sugar in offered this location 1956. The Historical Society leased the building and portion of the grounds from Wailuku Sugar for a $1.00 a year. In 1992 Wailuku Sugar or better known then as Wailuku Agro-Business closed and sold the entire property to Masaru "Pundy" Yokouchi in 1992. In 1993 the main building along with 0.7 acres was donated to the Maui Historical Society.
Edward Bailey, and his wife Caroline Bailey immigrated to Hawaii in 1837. They came on a ship names Mary Fraizer. Mr. Bailey taught at Amherst College Before coming to Hawaii to work as a mission teacher. Bailey was first stationed in Kohala on the Island of Hawaiʻi and later transferred to Lahaina Maui. Bailey taught at the Lahainaluna Seminary.
In 1840 Bailey was sent to teach at the Wailuku Female Seminary where he replaced the current Headmaster Mr. Armstrong. Bailey remained the Headmaster until the schools closure in the mid 1850's. Bailey was known for his oil paintings of landscapes, as well as his contributions in helping to build the 4th and current Kaʻahumanu Church, and the commission of its clockworks. Bailey also owned and operated a small sugarcane plantation that was later sold to the Wailuku Sugar Plantation.
Bailey House Museum